A walk through the old town of Stenay. Discover Stenay’s places and most attractive dwellings during a lovely stroll of around 1hour15.
Get to know Stenay and its history during a walk passing the main shops and restaurants.
The origin of the name Stenay may be explained by the Germanic Stein Acum = village of stone. But references to Satan, Saturn, etc. are also frequent.
Stenay has, given its location, always been a fortified city and a place for military personnel. The region was part of many wars and disputes. The Citadel was founded in 1615.
After the final connection with France in 1654 the borders were shifted and the need for enhanced protection disappeared.
The dismantling of the citadel began in 1689.
Download the Tourist office flyer: City tour Stenay