A walk through the old town of Stenay. Discover Stenay’s places and most attractive dwellings during a lovely stroll of around 1hour15.
Get to know Stenay and its history during a walk passing the main shops and restaurants. read more
A small exhibition about the American offensive in the First Word War: battle, divisions, heroes, cemeteries, etc. All strategic militaire information, with b/w photo’s and mainly text and text and text in French…
At least during the second half of 1916 there was a small German airfield next to the village of Sivy-sur-Meuse. This village is approximately 20 km north of Verdun and Oswald Boelcke decided to have an airfield there, because he thought that Jametz was to far away from the frontline to react in time in... read more
The heights of Le Mort Homme or Dead Man’s Hill (German: Toter Mann) lie within the French municipality of Cumières-le-Mort-Homme around 10 kilometres northwest of the town of Verdun in France. The hill earned tragic notoriety for being the scene of bitter fighting in the Battle of Verdun during the First World War.
Follow in the footsteps of the old fortifications of Stenay between the town and the military citadel. This pleasant historic walk of about 1 hour 15 minutes leads you back in time through the meandering lanes and passages of Stenay.
Margut: Hermitage in St. Walfroy founded by the hermit St.Walfroy in the sixth century. It is a place of pilgrimage to be reached by a path consisting of fourteen stations of the cross. At the summit, 1,148 feet above sea level, one discovers a remarkable view of the surrounding areas and as far as Belgium.
Overview: Three days along the borders of the river Semois in the Ardens along the nicest places. One of the most beautiful GR routes in Belgium with a varying trail and climbs witch puts you to your limits. This guide takes you on a heavy journey along the Semois with many panoramic views, small trails,... read more
Charleville-Mézières, a town in northern France opened the Old Mill on the river Meuse to house the collection of its most famous poet, the 19th-century poet Arthur Rimbaud. The museum combines objects telling the story of Rimbaud’s short life (he only lived to 37) and his literary legacy in one space but also to demonstrate his... read more
Orval Abbey (Abbaye Notre-Dame d’Orval) is a Cistercian monastery founded in 1132 in the Gaume region of Belgium and is located in Villers-devant-Orval, part of Florenville in the province of Luxembourg. The abbey is well known for its history and spiritual life but also for its local production of the Trappist beer Orval and a... read more
European roe deer (Capreolus capreolus) Video from the vetenarians in Stenay. Deer in the Woods of the North Meuse. The European roe deer (Capreolus capreolus), also known as the western roe deer, chevreuil, or simply roe deer or roe, is a Eurasian species of deer. The male of the species is sometimes referred to as... read more
Located in Warphernont Wood, the emplacement for the SKL – 45 Max – 380 mm gun was one of the most closely guarded secrets of the First World War. It was in a particularly strategic position behind the German front lines. The original gun was made by Krupp for one of the German Navy’s battleships.... read more
This 52-heactare (130-acre) cemetery was established on 14 October, 1918, by the US Army on land taken by the 32nd Infantry Division. This land was ceded to the United States in perpetuity by the French Government to establish a permanent, tax-free burial site.
The art gallery and museum (musee d’art et d’histoire) has been housed in a 16th-century house in the heart of the old town since 1932. Its very varied collections give insight into Verdun’s rich history from prehistoric times to the eve of the First World War.
The small but delightful town of Marville. I had been intending to visit anyway but was immediately impressed. The other points on our route had all been quaint villages with lots of the local yellow stone – not a torchy wall in sight. You can still see that Marville was much grander.
Joan of Arc (French: Jeanne d’Arc, IPA: [ʒan daʁk]; 6 January c. 1412 – 30 May 1431), nicknamed “The Maid of Orléans” (French: La Pucelle d’Orléans), is considered a heroine of France for her role during the Lancastrian phase of the Hundred Years’ War and was canonized as a Roman Catholic saint. Joan of Arc... read more
Jean-Claude Servais, cartonist, loves the Gaume region in southern Belgium. He has been living for many years and loves the nature. The history of the region draws herself into her landscapes, monuments and buildings, making her a dreamed ambassador of the wonderful Gaume. As cartoonist and script writer countless works of his hand has since... read more
Jean-Robert Ipoustéguy (January 6, 1920 – February 8, 2006),a figurative French sculptor, was born “Jean Robert” in Dun-sur-Meuse. His artwork had a distinct style, combining abstract elements with the human figure, often in the écorché style of French anatomists. The American writer John Updike once wrote that he “may be France’s foremost living sculptor, but... read more
This monument, which was built by an American, is based on a legend stating that French soldiers were buried alive, standing in their trench during constant shelling. It has remained in popular memory as a symbol of Verdun’s battlefield.
The hidden village of Camp Marguerre (1915) in the Gouraincourt Forest gradually comes into view as you approach the signposted footpath. The encampment was at the rear of the German front lines and consists of concrete huts built on the orders of the German Captain, Hans Marguerre.
Fort Douaumont is the mightiest of the forts surrounding Verdun. Captured in a surprise attack four day after the beginning of the Battle of Verdun, it was occupied by the German Army for eight months. They used it as shelter for their troops and as essential back-up for their ongoing offensive. Despite several attempts at... read more
Built from 1935 to 1937, the Fort of La Ferté is part of the mighty Maginot Line. In May 1940 it was to become the theatre of one of the most tragical episodes of the Battle of France. After four days of combat its whole garrison – 107 men – were asphyxiated in the underground... read more
Situated between the Chateau de Sedan and the Verdun remembrance sites, the Stenay Beer Museum retraces the history of brewing arts and traditions, from its origins around 12,000 years ago to the present day, with an exhibition space of over 2,500m². The impressive building that is now the Eurpean Beer Museum was a fod store... read more
The European honey buzzard (Pernis apivorus), also known as the pern or common pern, Video from the vetenarians in Stenay. Honey buzzard in the Woods of the North Meuse. The European honey buzzard (Pernis apivorus), also known as the pern or common pern, is a bird of prey in the family Accipitridae.Despite its English name,... read more
Near Avioth, at the beginning of the 12th C, shepherds discovered another sta¬tue of the Virgin and Child. This town also became a popular place of pilgrimage, and a magnificent basilica was built there, a disconcerting building in such a simple place. Dating from the 13th to 16th Cs, its graceful architecture makes it an... read more
At Luzy-Saint-Martin and its surrounding hills, ferocious battles took place between the 26th and 28th August 1914. After the battle at the frontier, the German army pursued its breakthrough and continued advancing across the River Meuse before joining the Marne. It was intercepted at Luzy by French colonial regiments. Violent pitched battles took place resulting... read more
The World Centre for Peace, Liberty and Human Rights (Centre Mondial de la Paix, des Libertes et des Droits de l’Homme) is housed in the luxurious archbishop’s palace in Verdun, described by Saint-Simon in his memoirs, as the most splendid such palace in the whole of France.
The citadel of Montmédy stands on a hill above the town that offers a good view of the surrounding country. The main entrance road winds up the hillside from the town below, although there is also a path that runs directly up from the town. This path is protected on both sides by the walls... read more
Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean Mudam is the foremost museum dedicated to contemporary art in Luxembourg, and strives to be attentive to every discipline and open to the whole world. Its collection and programme reflect current artistic trends and appreciate the emergence of new artistic practices on a national and international scale.
Musee de la fortification: The aim of the museum is to highlight the richness, diversity and fascinating features of military architecture in Meuse, from the area’s earliest days to the late 18’h century. There are models of systems of defence, old weaponry, aerial views of fortified sites in Meuse …
Who was Saint Dagobert II? Son of the Merovingian King Sigebert III (or Sigisbert), and grandson of King Dagobert II, he was born around 652 AD. When his father died in 663, he was exiled by Grimoald, the Mayor of the palace, and was educated in a monastery in Ireland. However, Grimoald’s treacherous ruse was... read more
Montfaucon American Monument is a monument commemorating the American victory in the Meuse-Argonne Offensive during World War I. It is located in Montfaucon-d’Argonne close to Romange-sous-Montfaucon (American cemetery and museum). Immediately behind the Monument you find the ruins of the village with the remains of the church still visible.
To spent a beautiful day in Dun-sur-Meuse en Dun-Haut with modern art, nature and history we recommend the one day tour “a day with Ipoustéguy”. Visit the permanent exposition known as the ‘Gallery Ipoustéquy’ and the temporary exhibitions in the other rooms. Find the birthhouse of Ipoustéquy. The house was hit hard during the First World... read more
The lake of Amel, near Sonel is a beautiful place to be. A walk of 8 km around de lake and trough the forest is available in French. There is no text available in English, but the walk doesn’t need a translation!
Procyon (genus) Video from the vetenarians in Stenay. Raccoon in the Woods of the North Meuse. Procyon is a genus of nocturnal mammals, comprising three species commonly known as raccoons, in the family Procyonidae. The most familiar species, the common raccoon (P. lotor), is often known simply as “the” raccoon, as the two other raccoon... read more
Boat trip on the Meuse. Discover the Meuse River in all its beauty. The river that migrates from the source in Pouilly-en-Bassin to the seagate in Rotterdam. In the department of Meuse you can enjoy the unspoilt beauty of this river. From May to September, Meuse Nautic invites you to discover the beauty of the... read more
This memorial on Montsec Ridge in the Meuse Hills consists of a circular colonnade with a bronze viewing table in the middle showing the location of villages and the position of the fighting on the Saint-Mihiel Saillant. It was erected by the USA in 1932 and is made of Euville stone.
Build in 1620, for Simon II de Pouilly, Military Governor of Stenay, in his capacity as representative of the Duchy of Lorraine, build on a vantage point over the Loison valley, this is one of the biggest Renaissance castles in the Lorraine region.
The village of Vauquois was caught up in mine warfare and razed to the ground in February 1915 during the bitter fighting that totally changed its landscape. Nowadays, people have complete access to the hillside, the Butte de Vauquois overlooking the impressive craters created by explosive charges and the restored trenches on both the French... read more
Maison du miel et des abeilles du Val Dunois (Bee keeping museum). Discover the fascinating world of bees. Enthusiastic beekeepers have developed a fun way of sharing their knowledge with visitors. You can access the very heart or of the hive in totally safe modern amenities not found anywhere else in Lorrain.
In 1636, the chapel Notre Dame of Luxemburg in Torgny was erected due to the outbreak of plague. In 1729 the hermitage was annexed to the chapel. Young women without a husband and pregnant women used to come there on pilgrimage.
Centre Pompidou-Metz, first decentralisation of a national cultural establishment in France, Centre Pompidou, was developed in collaboration with the greater urban community – Communauté d’Agglomération de Metz Métropole. It is a public establishment for cultural cooperation whose founding members are the French State, the Centre Pompidou, the Lorraine Region, the Communauté d’Agglomération de Metz Métropole... read more
The World War I Montfaucon American Monument is located seven miles south of the Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery and Memorial and 20 miles northwest of Verdun, France. It consists of a massive granite doric column, surmounted by a statue symbolic of liberty, which towers more than 200-feet above the war ruins of the former village.
Calcareous grassland (or alkaline grassland) is an ecosystem associated with thin basic soil, such as that on chalk and limestone downland. Plants on calcareous grassland are typically short and hardy, and include grasses and herbs such as clover. Calcareous grassland is an important habitat for insects, particularly butterflies, and is kept at a plagioclimax by... read more
The Ossuary contains the remains of 130,000 unknown soldiers. Visitors see a film entitled, “Verdun des hommes de boue” (Verdun, Men in Mud). The film is shown every half-hour, with commentary available in French, German, English, Dutch, Russian and Chinese. Visitors can access the tower and its museum.
Nature Reserve Raymond Mayné Situated north of the village and facing south, the nature reserve stretches on a nearly-six-hectare surface; it belongs to the association “Ardenne et Gaume” and to the district of Rouvroy. It enjoys a warm and dry climate and consists of old quarries, limy lawns and thickets.
Montfaucon American Monument is a monument commemorating the American victory in the Meuse-Argonne Offensive during World War I. It is located in Montfaucon-d'Argonne close to Romange-sous-Montfaucon (American cemetery and museum). Immediately behind the Monument you find the ruins of the village with read more
This 52-heactare (130-acre) cemetery was established on 14 October, 1918, by the US Army on land taken by the 32nd Infantry Division. This land was ceded to the United States in perpetuity by the French Government to establish a permanent, tax-free burial read more
Fort Vaux, another Sere de Rivieres fort, was one of the main priorities of the German attack, from the very start of the Battle of Verdun.
Early in March 1916, the Germans launched a 100-day siege from their position a few hundred meters read more
This memorial in the town center was inaugurated in 1929 by French President, Gaston Doumergue. From it, there is a breathtaking view of the town. The 73 steps lead up to a hall containing lists of names of the soldiers awarded the read more
The hidden village of Camp Marguerre (1915) in the Gouraincourt Forest gradually comes into view as you approach the signposted footpath. The encampment was at the rear of the German front lines and consists of concrete huts built on the orders of read more
This memorial on Montsec Ridge in the Meuse Hills consists of a circular colonnade with a bronze viewing table in the middle showing the location of villages and the position of the fighting on the Saint-Mihiel Saillant. It was erected by the read more
This monument, which was built by an American, is based on a legend stating that French soldiers were buried alive, standing in their trench during constant shelling. It has remained in popular memory as a symbol of Verdun's battlefield.
Unrestricted read more
Les Eparges is a ridge overlooking the Woevre Plain opening out towards the town of Metz. It was the scene of terrible fighting, especially in 1915. It was in this sector, which includes the Calonne Trench, that literary conscripts were brought face read more
The heights of Le Mort Homme or Dead Man's Hill (German: Toter Mann) lie within the French municipality of Cumières-le-Mort-Homme around 10 kilometres northwest of the town of Verdun in France. The hill earned tragic notoriety for being the scene of bitter read more